I’ve been watching a lot of Law & Order lately, and when I say a lot I mean a LOT. We’re talking maybe 3 or4 (or 5 or 6) a day, every day. I do mix it up a little, watching all three flavors, but still that is a lot of BONG BONGs.

I think my favorite part is the little vignette before the opening credits. Criminal Intent has a bit of a different slant by showing some history of the crime, but generally I like them because they feature totally random New Yorkers strolling around, usually poorly acting  out some inane dialogue, always cut short by one person looking off camera and saying, “Oh my god! Call the police!”, then the camera panning down to the body. L&O has been on for 17 seasons (!) so at 22 episodes per season, that is a lot of delightfully inane chatter.

As much as I love this show, and contrary to  Bravo’s, USA’s and TNT’s obvious wishes, I think I need to stop watching it so much. I’m finding that I try to memorize what my friends are wearing every time I see them in case Logan or Briscoe knocks on my door and asks me about the last time we were together. I think about what I was doing last Thursday in case I have to have an alibi ready to prevent wrongful arrest. Worst of all, I am starting to have nightmares featuring the grizzliest m.o.’s — like the Whoopi Goldberg machete murders I watched last night (now that is a phrase I never thought I’d type).

So, as much as I love you Dick Wolf, I’m gonna have to start the weening process now.

