I am on my way to visit friends on the easterly coast for the holiday week and am really very excited. Really. I am. I have never been to most of New England before so that is fun, I haven’t seen the friends I’m seeing in a long time so getting to be with them will be a real treat, and I get to eat delicious foods without thinking twice about it for a week, which is always good.  But I have to keep reminding myself of these things over and over so that I don’t chuck this laptop at one of the nearby fellow travelers that have been stuck in the airport with me for the last 3 hours waiting for our flight to be rescheduled. I can’t decide who deserves it more — the man who is shrieking “Poopy Pants!”at his (evidently soiled) 2 year old, the woman who keeps talking about her local “homies” on her cell phone, the two kids laughing maniacally at whatever thing they are watching on their portable DVD thing, or the couple who just changed their 3 month old on the seat RIGHT next to me. I mean the seat that is immediately next to me. 6 inches away. Sigh.

Oh lord, Mr. Poopy-pants and someone in the baby’s entourage just discovered that they went to school together and are now loudly reminiscing about all the guys on their hockey team and how they died in the last 10 years.  A laptop to the head in a crowded airport has not yet been mentioned, but stay tuned. We have an hour before take off.

