Happy Year of the Rat! I’ve decided that since it is a new year I will turn over a new attitudinal leaf and try to keep a sense of humor about the increasingly ridiculous experiences I’m having at work right now.

Yesterday was actually a GREAT day. I got to go to a day long conference aaaalllll about the best children and YA books published in the last year. It was a 7 hour long book talk and even though I didn’t really know anybody (librarians are a pretty cliquey bunch, aren’t we?) I had a great time. The frosting on the day was that I got to meet El for a jaunty downtown lunch AND I got to take the train to and from the event. I forgot how much I love commuting by CTA and I honestly feel like a big part of the reason I’ve been feeling disconnected from the city and not settled in was that I hadn’t yet ridden the rails.

So yesterday was a good day, despite the sloppy, sleety, dirty-slush covering snowstorm all day. Stupidly, I wore super thin dress pants and my moccasiniest suede sneakers to tromp the 3/4ths of a mile to the train station and back. I got home with pruney feet and ruined shoes, but still: a good day.

Here’s hoping for more of the same…

